Okay, so let me tell you about this FRICKIN’ AMAZING SOUP that I made last night (1-24-2016).

2017-01-24-23-26-06
With flash…

This right here is egg drop soup with the following things:

  • Egg drop soup mix, or any broth will do
  • 1 egg
  • Dino kale
  • Curly kale
  • Spinach (I think it’s flat spinach, I honestly forgot the name)
  • Green onions, scallions, whichever name tickles your fancy
  • Olive oil (to sautee)
  • Cayenne pepper
  • Garlic powder

All of the greens I used are fresh from UCF’s very own arboretum, isn’t that rad? And doesn’t this sound just delish?! Well, that’s because IT IS. Holey moley, I’m usually a very modest person with everything in life…but right now, I gotta give it up for myself. I need to give myself a pat on the back. This was sooooooo soooooo good!

For the egg drop soup itself, I bought a packet of egg drop soup mix from Publix on Monday during my grocery shopping. Foolish me thought it was going to come with egg shards or something…never mind that, though. I put the soup mix in some water to bring it to a boil, then I cracked an egg and whipped it around the pot until it started looking like ribbons. For me, this is nothing new as I’ve made egg drop ramen noodle soup in the past.

Meanwhile, I began sautéeing the kales and spinach with olive oil in one pan. It’s coming along GREAT. After it started to taste nice and savory, I turned the stove off and transferred them to the soup that I transferred to the bowl. I topped it with the green onions, took one sip of that sucker, and…

giphy2

Yep, you guessed it. I caught that holy ghost. I done died and went to heaven with just one taste of this magnificent soup of mine. My spirit literally left my body and sang to the heavens. And then I asked myself…HOW did I do it. EYE did that?! I made this holy concoction?

 

source1

You know, maybe this is the time that I finally realize my true potential….eh, maybe not today. But for now, I’m celebrating big time because I’m slowly but surely learning how to cook certain things. It’s a process!

2017-01-24-23-26-17
…without flash!

What amazing foods have you made lately? Or is there something in particular that you’re extremely proud of?

Abeni, out!

Facebook | Twitter
7 thoughts on “Egg Drop Soup With A Whole Lotta Kale (And Other Greens)

  1. It does sound amazing and delicious! I can’t remember the last amazing thing I did ahah… maybe crêpes for my flatmate… yeah… that must be.. anyway, defo keeping in mind your recipe because it’s just amazing! xx Corinne from Corinne & Kirsty

    Like

  2. This looks absolutely mouthwatering, and what a great way to eat lots of kale! So impressed that the greens came from the arboretum, too! And you had me in stitches as I was reading this 😂😂!

    xoxo
    Emily

    Like

Leave a Reply

