Okay, I can’t even attempt to hide it. Adulthood is hard and from the looks of it, it doesn’t look like it gets any easier. I mean, making phone calls??? Making my own appointments??? FILING TAXES???¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿?¿???¿????

tenor

Can someone hurry up and invent a time machine already so I can go back to being a kid and not have to worry about this stuff?

No, but seriously. Adulthood isn’t all that bad…it’s taught me some valuable lessons for living life. Like what, you say?

  1. Keep your expectations low. Too many times before in life, I’ve set my expectations high for an event…only to be disappointed when nothing happens or things go south. With this, I learned that if you lower your expectations, you can’t be disappointed when things don’t go the way you expected them to. You can just say “Well, I kind of expected that.” The lower you keep your expectations, the happier you’ll be.
  2. Don’t rely on anyone. If you must do this, then always have a backup plan. I cannot stress this enough. There are times when people do not or cannot follow through with what they have to do…sometimes it’s out of their control, or sometimes it’s due to their own neglect. In the words of King Koopa from the Super Mario Bros. Ice Capades (yes, this was a very real thing because the 1980s), “You want to dominate the world, you have to do it yourself.”
  3. Trust no one. Just. Don’t. Do it. At all. Don’t leave your drink unattended at a bar or at a party or ANYWHERE. Don’t get into anybody’s car that you don’t know very well or hardly know at all. At the end of the day, the only person you should be trusting is yourself. This is extraordinarily short because it’s pretty self-explanatory.
  4. Doing things alone is not, never was, and never will be “uncool”. Maybe during high school, yes, but there’s a reason nobody wants to relive high school. No doubt high school was the most awkward 4 years of my life, and considering all the awkward years I’ve had so far, this says a lot. But ever since I started university back in Fall 2015, it opened my eyes to a whole new way of living. Eating alone is normal; I see it all the time and I do it all the time. It’s okay to go to an event by yourself; I’ve done it many times now and have this to say to YOU: Wanna go to that concert but have no friends to go with? Go anyway. Wanna try out a new yoga class, but confused about whether it’d be weird to go alone? Don’t worry about that, just GO. Wanna see that new Ryan Gosling movie at the new luxury theater with reclining chairs and alcohol? JUST DO IT! I promise you, nobody will care at all if you show up alone, eat alone, or do whatever alone. It tells others that you’re independent and don’t need the metaphorical crutch of another person to have a great time!
  5. It’s better to have a few close friends than a bunch of acquaintances. Would you rather have a ton of phonies and fakes as your friends? Or would you rather have one real friend that’s there for you in your hardest times and truly understands you? As an introvert, I tend to prefer having close friends and I never cared for acquaintances. I always think about this situation: if you were sinking in quicksand, between some acquaintance who barely knows you on the surface and a close friend who knows more about me than others, who do you think would save you? I think you know the answer to that.
  6. Life goes on. Put simply, shit happens. It sucks when it happens, but that’s life. It’s not gonna stop for anybody. Case in point: I was supposed to volunteer one Friday at a homeschooling academy, but once I finally got to the place, NOBODY WAS EVEN THERE. Talk about a disappointment! I thought to myself, “Well, I kind of expected this to happen,” so while I was pissed off that I wasn’t going to spend some time volunteering and working with kids, I couldn’t let it get to me the whole day. And guess what – I didn’t. I got back to campus, bought some Huey Magoo’s and a peach smoothie, and surfed the net on my laptop in anticipation for my yoga class at 5. In a nutshell, you have to just roll with the punches and go on with your life.
  7. Listen to your intuition. Especially if you’re a woman like me, your intuition will never fail you. Getting good vibes from someone or something? Good, that’s a great sign. Proceed. Are you getting negative vibes from somebody or something? That’s your intuition telling you to get the hell out of dodge. Do not ignore it or disregard what your gut feelings are telling you.
  8. REVIEW YOUR RESUMES FOR MISTAKES BEFORE YOU SEND IT IN OR GIVE IT TO SOMEONE. At Intern Pursuit two weeks ago, I gave out resumes to the companies that I was able to speak to before the time ran out. What I didn’t realize until two days after the fact, was that I SPELLED ONE WORD WRONG! *cue shocked emoji*

Luckily for the ones I was still interested in, I was able to send in an updated resume in time along with my cover letter and I still got a phone interview for one. Yay! But seriously, proofread all your professional stuff before you send it to the head honchos, because if you misspell one word on there and you want to work as some type of writer, they’re probably gonna think you’re nucking futs and throw it in the trash can. Oh, and they’ll also call it a case of beautiful irony.

  • Honorary mention: Growing apart is totally normal and a part of life. I can say for sure I grew apart from pretty much everyone in high school, but after graduating in 2012 I held on to this hope for the next 3 years that my lunch crew would stick around. Fast forward to now, it feels like we’re all in different places in life physically, mentally, and socially. Are we as close as we used to be? Not really. Are we enemies now? No! It’s just LIFE. We get older, we get wiser (well, most people anyway), we learn new things, garner new interests, discover new opportunities, meet new people, gain new responsibilities and priorities. We never stop learning about ourselves and the world around us, and it contributes to our mental growth every day. In short, people change. Sadly, it can be for the worse with some, but for others, it can be for the better. If you’ve grown apart from friends before, do NOT blame yourself because you are NEVER at fault. That’s Life™!

This is by no means a finite list, but these little lessons are some of the most important ones I’ve learned in life. I will never stop learning.

Abeni, out!

P.S. The featured image is totally crude on purpose.

Leave a Reply

